Here’s How You Can Auto-Delete Web and Location History on Google

Google is one of the most common and trusted platforms that has been used by millions of users all over the world. It provides a lot of amazing services to its users that enhance the users’ experience. It has always tried to improvise its services by making significant changes.

google

Google is one of the most common and trusted platforms that has been used by millions of users all over the world. It provides a lot of amazing services to its users that enhance the users’ experience. It has always tried to improvise its services by making significant changes. The company always has something new to offer to its users. The previous month, this platform has taken some critical steps that enable users to change the way Google retains your data. Well, this time, Google has added new functionality that allows you to auto-delete your web activity and location history on your Google accounts. According to Google’s CEO Sundar Pichai, Google will auto-delete all your web activities, including app activities and location history after 18 months. The company took this step, keeping in mind the security of its users.

Do you want to know more about this feature? Want to know how you can enable it on your devices? If that is the case, then you have landed on the right page. Here, in our following article, we are going to provide you with the method through which you can auto-delete your web history and location history on Google. Please read the full article to get the tricks to do so.

The Method to Auto-Delete the Web History and Location History on Google

This is a significant step taken by Google to ensure the online security and privacy of its users. However, this update will not be added to other services like Gmail, Google Drive, and Google Photos. Previously, the users had to manually enable this setting, if they didn’t want Google to collect their data for a long time. But now, this is not the case. With this setting, all your web activity, app data, and location history will be automatically deleted from your Google account. However, it is up to you to set a specific time period at which you want to auto-delete your Google history. You can choose any option between 18 months and three months.

If you are a new user of Google, then you don’t have to change anything as the platform will automatically save this setting. But, if you are an old user, then you have to turn on this setting manually. Don’t worry. We have got you covered. Here, we have mentioned the methods to delete your web activity, app activity, and location history automatically on your Google account. Go through the below-mentioned procedure to turn on the setting.

The Steps to Auto-Delete Your Web and Activity Data

To auto-delete your web and activity data, follow the steps given below:

❖ Open the Google account on your device and if you have not signed in to your account, then sign in with your email ID and password.

❖ Now, open the “Activity Controls” page by going to the option of “Data and Personalisation”.

❖ Select the option of “Manage your Activity Controls”.

❖ On the next page, tap or click on “Manage Activity”.

❖ Next, select the option of “Auto-Delete (off)”.

❖ Here, you will see the three options that include “keep the data until I delete manually”, “keep for 18 months”, and “keep for three months”. Choose any of the three options.

❖ Next up, click on the option of “Next” and the “Confirm” to save the changes.

❖ Or simply, you can disable the option of “Web and App Activity”, if you don’t want to be tracked by Google.

The Steps to Auto-Delete the Location History

If you want to auto-delete your location history, then here’s a way to do so:

❖ To remove the location history, you need to open the Google Maps app on your device.

❖ Go to the sidebar menu and tap your Timeline.

❖ Now, tap on the three-dotted icon that you can find on the top right corner of your screen and then go to “Settings and Privacy”.

❖ Scroll down through your screen and tap on the option of “Automatically Delete Location History”.

❖ Choose any of the three options and then tap “Next” and complete the process by tapping on the “Done”.

So, these were the methods that you need to follow if you want to enable this setting. Hope this would help you in every way. And with this, we promise to keep you updated with the latest updates and information. Please stay connected with us and do let us know if you have any comments.

 

Source :- https://norton-com.sitey.me/blog/post/96213/here-s-how-you-can-auto-delete-web-and-location-history-on-google

Daisy Martin arrived on the cyber security scene in the early 2000s when virus and malware were still new and slowly evolving. Her longtime affair with writing with an interest in the cybersecurity industry, combined with her IT degree, has contributed to experience several aspects of security suite industry such as blogging at norton.com/setup.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website at WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: